NORFOLK PUBLIC HOUSES

norfolkpubs.co.uk

          

EXPLORE NORFOLK
  

EXPLORE NORWICH

 

EXPLORE Gt YARMOUTH

 

EXPLORE KINGS LYNN

 

Houses not located  - Can you assist?

 

Publications of interest

 

THANKS TO....

 

Being brewed........
 

HEAD FOR THE DOOR
 

Search for Pub or Publican

Old photographs
& postcards of
Norfolk Pubs
eagerly sought.
Your price paid
for any original not already collected.
Please send details to

p u b s
@

n o r f o.l

k p u b s

.ccoo

. ukk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

AMERICAN FLAG KINGS LYNN index
13 PURFLEET STREET CHEQUER WARD FULL LICENCE CLOSED by 1921
KINGS LYNN PETTY SESSION REGISTERS PS 4/3/1 to 4/3/4 ( August 1872 to 1965 )
COLCHESTER BREWERY   
COOPER BROWN On lease from Colchester Brewery. As recorded 1910
COLCHESTER BREWERY   
Licensees :
EDMUND AYRES
( Edward Ayres at Red Lion 1883 )
09.08.1880
DENNIS BROCKBANK 07.05.1883
CHARLES DANE 07.04.1884
MARK NEAL 11.01.1886
JOHN CROWELL
( at American Flag 1890 )
11.02.1889
EDITH CROWELL 1891
WILLIAM RIVETT 12.10.1891
HENRY KENDLE 16.10.1893
NOAH CHILVERS 08.10.1906
THOMAS WILLIAM SMITH 03.01.1916
to closure

Formerly the RED LION from at least 1734 to 1883.
House not found by any name in 1888 directory.
( Name possibly changed as late as 1890 )

The Colchester Brewing Company appealed against closure of the house at the February 1910 licensing sessions. The house was very useful and did very good trade. This could be shown by the fact that the tenant got a living out of it. The Brewery were willing to sacrifice the licenses of the Goat and the Ship even though they had lost five houses in Lynn since the 1904 Compensation Act.
Chief Constable Payne said he had no objection to the course suggested.
Hearing that there would be no objection to closure of the nearby Purfleet Tavern and that the Ship was only 163 yards away from the American Flag, the Bench decided to accept the offer and the licence was renewed.

Referred for Compensation 08.03.1920.
Licence extinct 25.01.1921.

Site became the Lynn News & Advertiser offices.
``The original stairs are still to be seen''.