NORFOLK PUBLIC HOUSES

norfolkpubs.co.uk

          

EXPLORE NORFOLK
  

EXPLORE NORWICH

 

EXPLORE Gt YARMOUTH

 

EXPLORE KINGS LYNN

 

Houses not located  - Can you assist?

 

Publications of interest

 

THANKS TO....

 

Being brewed........
 

HEAD FOR THE DOOR
 

Search for Pub or Publican

Old photographs
& postcards of
Norfolk Pubs
eagerly sought.
Your price paid
for any original not already collected.
Please send details to

p u b s
@

n o r f o.l

k p u b s

.ccoo

. ukk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

ANCHOR OF HOPE KINGS LYNN Kings Lynn index
Anchor index
95 NORFOLK STREET KETTLEWELL WARD BEERHOUSE
later FULL LICENCE
CLOSED c1912
KINGS LYNN PETTY SESSION REGISTERS PS 4/3/1 to 4/3/4 ( August 1872 to 1965 )
JOHN JEX ROLPH As deeds dated 1872.
HOGGE & SEPPINGS from 1872 ( including Full Licence )
Licensees :
JAMES WAGG * 1836
EDWARD MOTTE 1839
YOUNGS POTTER 1845 - 1846
HENRY HODSON 1854
JOHN IRWIN 
& brewer
1856
DAVID ADAMS 1858 - 1865
JOHN ENEFER by 1869
JAMES ADDIE BROWN 06.01.1879
JAMES EDWARD HOPKINS
& RN pensioner
03.01.1881
FREDERICK CASE 17.10.1898
THOMAS SHOWLER 26.06.1899
ROBERT WILLIAM SMITH 06.02.1905
GEORGE JOHNSON
( This appears to be George Henry Johnson - 
who went on to Flower Pot )
15.01.1906
WILLIAM SILLIS
13.04.1907
JOHN BALLS 22.07.1907
ROBERT HOWARD 06.01.1908
WILLIAM SELLIS
( Also given as Sillis )
( Temporary transfer granted 07.03.1910 )
Arrived at house on or after 07.03.1910, but by 14.03.1910
15.04.1910

Listed 1836 as a beerhouse with licence allowing consumption of beer on the premises.

Named in Burnetts Handbook of Kings Lynn, 1846
as the ANCHOR & HOPE & 1888.
As the ANCHOR VAULTS 1890

Licensee William Sellis had been licensee of the Horse & Groom until at least 7th March 1910.

Referred for Compensation 12.02.1912.
Sold for £475 with an additional £990 being paid in Compensation.
( As added onto mortgage document originally dated 04.06.1908 )

Licensee name confirmed as William Sellis and Registered Owner as Hogge & Seppings Ltd. when licence refusal by reason of closure by Compensation, published 23rd August 1912.

Licence extinct 24.03.1913


Site became a shoe shop.