NORFOLK PUBLIC HOUSES norfolkpubs.co.uk
NORFOLK NORWICH GT. YARMOUTH KINGS LYNN NAME SEARCH PUBLICATIONS LINKS MYSTERY HOME
KINGS HEAD KINGS LYNN K index
Kings Head
QUEEN STREET TRINITY HALL WARD FULL LICENCE
6 DAY
CLOSED c1913
KINGS LYNN PETTY SESSION REGISTERS PS 4/3/1 to PS 4/3/3  ( August 1872 to 1956 )
JONATHAN BUNNING  
ELEANOR BUNNING  
JOHN H. KNIGHTS  
ANNE E. WHINCOP  
JOHN PERCIVAL KNIGHTS of Kings Lynn
Licensees :
-  
JONATHAN BRUNNING
& carman
by 1869
ELEANOR BRUNNING 21.08.1882
JOHN HAMMOND KNIGHTS 12.02.1883
ANNE ELIZABETH KNIGHTS 26.06.1899
JOHN PERCIVAL KNIGHTS 12.11.1900
WILLIAM LEWIS 08.04.1907
ERNEST JOHN ROLFE 22.07.1907
WILLIAM GEORGE BURTON 06.01.1908
ANNE ELIZABETH WHINCOP
Died April 1909 
06.04.1908
MATTHEW SIZELAND
( Licence initially held under protection order from 10.05.1909 )
26.07.1909
ROBERT WALTER WOODS 11.10.1909
GEORGE HENRY JOHNSON 03.01.1910
JOHN PERCIVAL KNIGHTS
( Percy Knights )
09.10.1911
Mrs. EYRES
( Manageress ? - see right )
09.10.1911
ERNEST EDWARD SILLIS 29.01.1912
WILLIAM JAMES RABY 06.01.1913 to closure




John Brunning is named at the WRESTLERS, Queen street in 1865. He is only given as a carter in Queen Street in 1868.
The KINGS HEAD is first named 1869 with John Brunning as licensee and carman.
( A Kings Head is named in 1671,
but no indication of location is given - 
See KINGS HEAD Tuesday Market Place )

Knights, Queen Street Brewery was attached to these premises.

~

For Sale by Auction Thursday 11th August 1881.
Situated on the east side of Queen Street, containing Bar, Parlour, Small sitting-room, 5 good Bed-rooms, large Store-room, W.C., 2 Kitchens, large Cellar, Stabling for 20 Horses, Cart shed, large Granary, Fowls Houses , &c. The whole standing on about 700 square yards of land.
Of modern construction in thorough repair.
Possession at Michaelmas.
~

Offered for sale by auction 22nd July 1909.
` All that FREEHOLD PUBLIC HOUSE, known as the KINGS HEAD, situate on the east side of Queen Street and near Saturday Market Place, Kings Lynn.
Containing drawing and dining rooms, bar, sitting and breakfast rooms, office, 4 bedrooms, w.c., 2 cellars, lean-to glass verandah, 2 greenhouses, kitchen, scullery, knife house, coal house, 2 w.c's, cart shed, large yard and outbuildings, in the occupation of Matthew Sizeland........
Together with the compact BREWERY adjoining, comprising Ground Floor: Scalding store, wash room, cleansing store, office, coal house, etc. First Floor: Brew house and cooler, malt chamber together with the brewery plant, fittings, fixtures and engine, hay and straw loft, also STABLING for 3 horses, enclosed yard and outbuildings. '

It was reported 23rd July 1909 that the bidding started at £500 and at £725 the property was withdrawn from sale.

Lynn Advertiser 15 October 1909
THE FREE HOUSE IN QUEEN'S STREET
COMFORTABLE smoking-room; well-appointed Bagatelle-room. Ales and Spirits of the best, at popular prices. R.W. WOODS, Proprietor. N.B. Bulldogs a speciality

~
At the Petty Sessions Monday 8th January 1912, Mrs Eyre appealed for re-consideration of her licence application. She had come from Leicester at great expense and had not anticipated difficulty in the transfer of licence. She was a widow with excellent references and some experience. Her daughters had some experience and her nephew was prepared to sleep on the premises and he had experience of the licensed trade. To prevent a widow from running the house seemed to be an out-of-date notion. Since she had been at the house the tone had improved considerably. The trade was divided into two parts, the trade in the yard was with men who worked on the shore, who did not stop there and soon returned to work. The customers in the smoke-room presented no trouble. Mrs. Eyre had been at the house 8 weeks and the way business was run could not be criticised. Furthermore the principal hotel in the town was managed by a lady.
The Magistrates retired and returned with the decision that the application be refused.

~

At the Petty Sessions 29th January 1912 it was heard that Edward Sillis had previously been appointed a Special Constable by Chief Constable Payne and so was `not a very bad man'. The request was to issue a licence before the annual licensing meeting of 12th February. Mr Sillis had been working for Messrs Hogge & Seppings and had undertaken to hire the house from the brewers. Mr Sillis would live in the house but could not say that he would always be in the house, but he would appoint somebody to superintend when he was not about. Licence application (Protection Order) was granted.

~

Referred for Compensation 10.02.1913
Licence extinct 14.01.1914