NORFOLK PUBLIC HOUSES norfolkpubs.co.uk
NORFOLK NORWICH GT. YARMOUTH KINGS LYNN NAME SEARCH PUBLICATIONS LINKS MYSTERY HOME
BLACKFRIARS TAVERN NORWICH B index
37 BRIDGE STREET
1 St. GEORGES
St. GEORGE AT COLEGATE FULL LICENCE CLOSED 04.02.1911
NORWICH LICENCE REGISTER PS 1/8/1 to PS 1/8/4 (1867 - 1965)
St. GEORGES BREWERY To December 1789 - For sale by auction following bankruptcy of brewer Samuel Fremoult. This house adjoined the brewery.
St. MARTINS BREWERY Part of lot 1 offered for sale by auction - as advertised 11th October 1794
BULLARDS by 1867
Licensees :
   
WILLIAM DRAKE
worsted weaver
1760 - 1761
THOMAS TERRY
yeoman
1762
JAMES BULLMAN
labourer
1763 - 1764
THOMAS BROWN 1806 - 1807
WILLIAM ALLEN 1810
......... 1811
See CELLAR HOUSE
EDWARD CHRISTMAS DOWSON by 1867
HENRY JOSEPH ROLL 16.11.1897
ROBERT TILLETT 11.05.1901
WILLIAM BOAST 17.12.1901
WILLIAM BAILEY 06.04.1903
WILLIAM HARCOURT 05.04.1904
THOMAS ROBERT LACK 29.11.1904
CHARLES PARKER 25.07.1905
Convicted 11.06.19071 of refusing to admit a police constable.
Fine 20/- plus 8/- costs or 7 days detention.
WILLIAM WALTER WARD 01.12.1908


The house was engaged for Freeholders, the Friends of Sir Edward Astley, Bart. and Thomas William Coke, Esq. on Wednesday 14th April 1784, being the Day of Election. (One of 53 such houses in Norwich)

The CELLAR HOUSE after 1811 to c1866

Also found as the FRIARS TAVERN.

Rebuilt 1888, partially on the site of the old house and part on the property of Charles Pigg.

Site taken over by Messrs Ruymps in 1908.

Licence provisionally refused 09.02.1909 and referred to Compensation.
Closed under Compensation 04.02.1911.